Copyright © 2013 2014 Wolverhampton Wheelers Cycling Club. All rights reserved.

Webmaster: Andy Jones email:

WOLVERHAMPTON WHEELERS CYCLING CLUB Welcome to the “Wheelers” one of the oldest and most successful cycling clubs in the Country

Two Countie RR Sunday 8th April 2012

Infrequent roadman David Watson (Coventry Road Club) showed his time trialling strength to ride to a clear victory in Wolverhampton Wheelers’ 50-mile Two Counties Road Race at Bridgnorth.

The 42-year-old Coventry veteran broke away from the pack shortly after half-distance in the three-lap race and was never seen again, finishing over a minute ahead of Mark Hammond (Stourbridge Velo) to record his first road race win in five years.

Hammond in turn attacked on the last lap to finish a clear second, with Dean Parkes (Team opening up a small gap over the rest on the run to the line to secure third place.

The circuit, based on Bridgnorth, Shropshire, and dropping into the Severn Valley before climbing back out, will be used for next month’s regional championship.


1 David Watson (Coventry Road Club) 2:09:10
2 Mark Hammond (Stourbridge Velo) at 1:02
3 Dean Parks ( at 1:07
4 James Phillips (Severn RC) at 1:15
5 Lee Buckley (Halesowen A&CC)
6 Roy Sumner (Port Sunlight Wheelers)
7 George Rowlands (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
8 Stuart Griffiths (Climb On Bikes)
9 Michael Lawton (Team Tri A Sport)
10 Chris Southworth (Leigh Premier RC)

Severn Valley Road Race incorporating the
West Midlands Regional Road Race

Sunday 20th May 2012

Entry details

With the Road Racing season fast approaching The Wheelers have yet again thrown its hat into the ring in relation to Road Race promotion.

Our first event is the Two Counties Road Race on Sunday 8th April 2012 (Easter Sunday) on the `Rabbit Run` circuit based at Bridgnorth.

Again on the `Rabbit Run` circuit on Sunday May 20th 2012 we are promoting the West Midland Regional Road Races, two races, one for Junior and Lady competitors and the main race for Elite, 1st, 2nd & 3rd Cat riders where we should see most of the areas top riders pitching it against the regular club riders.

Over the coming weeks I will be `banging the drum ` to get volunteers to help and assist in the running of these races to the standard we have become accustomed to!!

I will no doubt get the regular volunteers to come forward but I would like to see other members of the club come forward and assist. For those members who have no experience or knowledge of road racing but would like to come out and have a look then give me a call. There is plenty to do on race day and I could probably find something for everyone.

Give me a call 01922 410834 or 07970 946921 or by reply by Email.

Also on the agenda this year being driven by British Cycling is `Power to Stop`. This is an accreditation given to marshalls to stop traffic during cycle race events on the public highway. British Cycling are looking for volunteers for this and will be asked to support other events not just Wheelers events. If you want any further information on this either contact myself or


Austin Jones.

Road Race Secretary.

Severn Valley Road Race
For the
Andy Poole Memorial Trophy
incorporating the
West Midlands Regional Road Race Championships
22nd May 2011


A huge thanks, once more to all those volunteers who braved the windy conditions to make this race a success and to all the bakers for the wonderful supply of cakes. The Wheelers certainly know how to pull together to make a great team. Maybe some of the riders would like to add a "view from the saddle" race report.

Thanks to you all, Bea and Ian


E 1,2,3

1st Liam Holohan Team Raleigh

2nd Mike Jones Paramount

3rd Russell Falder Mammoth Lifestyle

4th Dan Fleeman Team Raleigh

5th Steven Allen Coventry CC

6th Matt Clinton Mike Vaughan Cycles

7th Richard Cartland Team Corley Cycles

8th Martin Ford Mammoth Lifestyle

9th Dave Giffiths Paramount

10th Dom Jelfs ASFRA RT

11th James Ratcliff Fred Williams

12th Tony Kiss Stratford CC

13th Dan Bill Cult Racing

14th David Watson Coventry CC

15th Will Penn Mammoth Lifestyle

16th Scott Law Team Qoroz

17th Phil Mason Climb on Bikes

18th David Giles Mammouth Lifestyle

19th Andrew Prince Stafford CC

20th Stuart Griffiths Climb on Bikes

21st David Saunders Climb on Bikes

22nd Richard Watson Paramount

WOMEN E,1,2,3,4.

1st Sarah Byrne VC St Raphael

2nd Lauren Creamer Abergavenny CC

3rd Kate Evans Wolverhamton Wheelers CC

4th Ros Clitheroe Wolverhamton Wheelers CC

5th Kelly Moore CC Giro

**** 4th actual Angie Pike Shred, National Trust ***
(Not elegible for Champs)


1st (J) Robert Lambton Brooks Cycles

2nd (J) Josh Papworth Cult Racing

3rd (J) George Moore CC Giro

4th (J) Joe Charley Wolverhampton Wheelers CC

5th (J) Chris Wilkinson Mid Shropshire Wheelers

6th Mark Corbett Worcester St Johns CC

7th (J) Richard Walkerdine Wolverhampton Wheelers CC

8th Gareth Jones Wolverhampton Wheelers CC

9th Karl Weatherall Hinkley CRC

10th Egon Hanson Lichfield CCC

11th John Grayson Wolverhampton Wheelers CC

12th Karl Moseley Stourbridge Velo

13th Lewis Holdcroft Private Member

14th (J) Sam Williams Epic Cycles

15th Adam Thompson Fred Williams RT

16th (J) Matt Clarke Halesowen A&CC

17th (J) Joe Waring Gannett CC

18th Stephen Jefferies Epic Cycles

19th Andrew Tomlinson Wolverhampton Wheelers CC

20th Jonathon Parks CC Giro

21st Neil McHugh Stafford RC

1st E,1,2,3,4. Liam Holohan Team Raleigh

1st Women Sarah Bryan VC St Raphael

Two Counties Road Race

Sunday 22nd March 2015

For the

Norman Southall Memorial



Event Headquarters:

Bridgnorth Community Hall

Severn Street


WV15 6BB

Austin Jones is after volunteers to help with the The Two Counties RR, this year Sunday 22nd March. Please let him now if you are able to help.

Race day program