WWCC Track League 2017 Round 6

Event Date

Event Rankings File

Event Report

Last year's winner Matty Lewis returns to defend his title stronger and fresher but faces some stiff competition and not just from other Junior riders but also Under 16s and strong Vet riders. In the first A event of the evening, the12 Lap Scratch, Matty made his break with seven laps to go but the main field caught him, however when Matty made another break with five laps remaining he could not be caught despite a big effort by Seb Bacon. Will Manfield-York pursued and just managed to pass Seb half a lap before the line. Matty also picked up a first on the Elimination race followed by a trio of Under 16 riders: Jamie Crump (Successcycling.co.uk) second, George Mills Keeling third and Ethan Roberts fourth. Vet rider Jason Colledge, back in Senior A this season, was fifth and Wheelers Chairman John Ireson picked up his first point this season with a sixth place. George Mills Keeling took first place in the Win and Out with William Manfield-York second and Matty Lewis third. Charlie Fisher of Newport Shropshire CC took fourth place. Under 16 Wheeler Dan Morris, riding his first season in the A's, took sixth place.
This is the beginning of the season so a view of the Rankings at this point must be made with a large degree of caution as there is still everything to play for and positions are bound to change in this highly competitive environment. However Matty Lewis is currently leading with 106 points and Jamie Crump is second with sixty six points. George Mills Keeling is in third place with thirty six points. The League welcomes Andy Cooper and Sam Cooper both of Wyre Forrest CRC and both riding for the first time. Reece Lowe (Brotherton Cycles) returns after his success of last year. Paul Wright also makes a welcome return now riding in the Senior A's (although neither were racing this evening). A special welcome back must also be given to Jack Hibberd who won the League in both 2010 and 2011.
So back to the racing and after the 3 Lap Dash the events culminated in the traditional Handicap race. This event allows the younger riders a share of the action and Alex Thomson took a well deserved win in the Intermediate Sprint at eleven laps. Oliver Baker took second with Sam Anslow third, Grace Lister fourth and Will Perry fifth. At the end of the race it was another win for Matty with Jamie crump second and William Manfield-Yorke third. Ethan Roberts came fourth with Karl Ward fifth and Jake White sixth.

Event Results File

Event Type

Track Race