WWCC Track League 2019 Round 6

Event Date

Event Rankings File

Event Report

Joe Guy Memorial Evening

Tonight’s racing was to celebrate the life of Joe Guy a rising star of the Wheelers whose life was tragically cut short in a road accident. Many of the Wheelers racing tonight were contemporaries of Joe including Seb Bacon who came back from uni especially for the night. Paul Wright brought a large group from Brotherton Cycles along with George Mills Keeling formerly a Wheeler and now riding for Cycle Club Bridgnorth. Jack Hibberd of Bromsgrove Olympique CC, twice winner of the League in previous years, was also in attendance to spice up the racing.

Senior B started the racing with a 10 lap Scratch. After five laps Tom White took the lead and no one was able to pull him back. Despite great efforts by Will Farmer and Elodie Gage Tom took the win closely followed by Will Farmer and Craig Whittle (Fred’s Race Team) just ahead of Simon Orme (Brereton Wheelers). The 12 lap Senior A Scratch went to George Mills Keeling with Mark McCann (BC Velo) second and Jake White third. Will Farmer took the fastest Time Trial in Senior B with Jack Hibberd second and Craig Whittle third. Mark McCann was the fastest Senior A rider with George Mills Keeling second and Jake White third.

The Match Sprint events produced some interesting results with Elodie Gage winning against Tom White, Mahyar Abbott winning against Jake White and Mark McCann winning against George Mills Keeling (although George had pedal trouble). The closest Match was between Paul Wright and Brian Handley with Paul triumphing over Brian by just four thousandths of a second. This was not, however, the closest event of the evening when in the Freewheelers Scratch Oliver Ward and Ray Lovell recorded a dead heat. This was the first time this has happened since Simon Fielding started the timing solutions, a clear confirmation of the efficiency and accuracy of the equipment and software.

Joe Guy had an aspiration to complete a ten mile time trial in under 21 minutes and so the final race of the evening was a 21 Lap handicap. To add more drama to the race Brian Handley performed more super quick maintenance on his bike while the rest of the riders waited patiently. Then the first group were off with Craig Whittle, Will Farmer and Tom White all working together nicely to maintain their handicap advantage. The main group were now in hot pursuit and at eleven laps to go Will and Tom were still in the lead but with eight laps left George Mills Keeling and Mark McCann bridged the gap and overtook them. Then with six laps left George made his move to gain a clear lead over the rest of the field and win by a significant margin. Mark McCann took second place with Karl Ward third, Tom White fourth, Brian Handley fifth and Giulio Cervi sixth. So George won the race and thus the Joe Guy Memorial Trophy. Joe’s parents Steve and Ange and his brother Craig were on hand to make the presentation.

Event Results File

Event Type

Track Race